Sunday, May 16, 2010

trial and food errors

So week one turned into "week one" about half way through wednesday...with Brad asking me incessantly: "is that on your diet??" with a I-know-its-not-but-I'm-asking-to-be-a-jerk look on his face. To which I snidely replied...hell yes it is. (lies.)
Wednesday was a cardio day - 40 to 45 minutes of just cardio of my choice. this happened to work perfect since I had my last law school final EVER and my post-final ritual is going for a run. So with a huge smile on my face and the weight of the world off my shoulders, I took to the centennial trial for the last time. It was a fabulous run in the beautiful sunshine. And then I drank beer and ate nachos.
Ooops.
I tried to stay on track with my workouts at least. After drinking and eating all night wednesday, Jennie and I woke up early (10am) and went to the gym together before our families came into town. Thursday is a repeat of Tuesday: arms circuit. Instead of walking on the treadmill at an incline though, I ran. Pretty sure my sweat smelled like bud light and hamburger. icky poo. Jennie smiled at me every time I ran by while she was on the treadmill though and it kept me going!
Thursday was another day full of eating and drinking (and weight loss is 80% what you eat...so yeah I'm not any lighter...). I don't even really want to recall what I ate. Something about a Chalupa bar and tequila shots... BUT I got in an extra cardio session shakin' my naughty body on the dance floor! Thursday was the annual grad boat cruise on Lake Coeur D'Alene. good times good times
Friday was supposed to be another gym date with my partner in all things sweat: Jennie...but she bailed on me! Instead of going back to bed though, I went by myself. My mom and aunt Michele biked 162 miles (yes- on road bikes) from Wenatchee to Spokane. So as I hauled my lazy booty out of bed that morning I thought to my self, "self: if they can do that, you can survive an hour at the gym." and gee golly whiz...I lived.
Friday was my favorite workout thus far! It was plyometric lower-body circuit. Here's the gist:
walking lunges: 15-20 per leg (which equals 30-40 total!!! you can guess which number I did...) with 15lbs total
box jumps: 15 no weights
Lateral leaps: 20 total
step ups: 15 per leg no weights
one-armed dead lifts: 20 per leg 15 lbs
calf raises: 20 no weights
The cardio in between was alternating stationary bike and treadmill. I tell ya...those walking lunges will murder you after the first couple circuits! and then straight to box jumps! This to me was like crossfit without a clock. Which is so much nicer for your body.
Saturday I was supposed to do the ever-dreadful HIIT (high intensity interval training) cardio routine...which I skipped because I had slightly more important things to accomplish. Like graduating from law school. I've been alternating between: (1) Damn it Jim! I'm a doctor not a scientist!; (2) that's doctor Wehmeyer to you; and (3) hi I'm a doctor how can I help you? - much the amusement of my family (weird?! I'm boasting about something! like OMG...never).
Saturday and Sunday we got in a little cardio just by moving me out of Spokane...so that kinda counts. Then tonight (sunday) I actually got my butt in gear! The program said to do 40-45 minutes of stationary bike: 5 minutes pace, 1 minute sprint; 5 min pace, 2 min sprint. So I did 40 minutes of that and about fell off the bike at the end! Dripping with sweat! So overall, for a "party" weekend, I'm proud of my effort!
Even though I think I did ok, I'm going to call this "week one" and start with a real week next week. Cause then I can buckle down and have no excuse to deviate that extensively (other than the fact that I'm moving to Seattle! party time! ....jk jk)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Day Two: lower body

Today was the second day of my body makeover! So far so good :)
I must say that my yummiest meal is breakfast! Blueberries in your oatmeal = parade in my mouth! And I also get egg whites so I'm left feeling all kinds of full and satisfied! I'm not used to a big breakfast so this is kinda nice. Instead of going straight to the gym I figured it would be more beneficial for my studies to go to the library for a little while and then after lunch go do my workout. if I don't manage to get the lib until 11am or noon and know that I have to sit here, uninterrupted, until after the sun goes down I get: (1) depressed/sad/whiny; and (2) I quit after like 5 hours. So instead I did library from 8:30pm - 3:30pm, then gym and now I'm back at the lib. BUT, on the bright side, this is the last night that Chastec Library will ever steal from me! so ha! (and obvi I'm working my fingers to the grind since I'm blogging...) So back to my workout
Today was legs day....so here's how it went: 4 rounds of....
5 minutes bike (warm up)
(1) 45 degree leg press: 60 lbs, 15 reps
(2) plie squats: 22.5 lbs, 20 reps
(3) seated leg curl: 35 lbs, 15 reps
(4) laying leg curl: 30 lbs, 15 reps each leg
(5) standing calf raises: body weight 15 reps
(6) seated calf raises: 20 lbs, 15 reps.
After each circuit I did 5 minutes hard on the bike at level 10 while attempting to pump my legs with the rhythm of the music. Unlike yesterday with arms, I was literally tasting my own sweat by the time I got off the bike the second round. Arms were hard but this was harder. My legs felt like jello during the curls and presses, and my calves...lets just say that if I have any mobility in my calf muscles tomorrow I'll be thankful! Thank god tomorrow is a 40-45 minute cardio day. The plan said that if you want an extra push, on a leg day don't alternate cardio machines and just bike because it'll tax your leg muscles that much more. Yep. They were right.
The bright spot was when I got home and made my yummy peanut butter/whey protein/plain yogurt shake! And now I'm about to have my chicken, broccoli, salad, tortilla dinner. It's actually pretty delicious.
Well...off to do something with myself that pertains to wills & trusts :) Thanks for listening

Monday, May 10, 2010

Muscle & Fitness

Hello to everyone who still checks my blog even though I haven't written anything in a long time! I have a new goal and I want this blog to be the place where I talk about it so that you can all keep me in check! I need someone to keep me honest :)
This past weekend my friend Edwina and I decided that 9 days left in Spokane was too many, so we took off for the Wenatchee Valley. Edwina to visit Rachel and Matt Murphy, and me to visit my fam damly. Mom had all these new magazines called Muscle & Fitness Hers on the coffee table. She had saved one just for me that has a 4-week workout and nutrition guide. Here's the breakdown:
Mondays: Upper body free weights - 4 circuits. 5 minutes of varying cardio in between each circuit
Tuesday: Lower body free weights - same set up as above.
Wednesday: hard cardio 40-45 minutes
Thursday: Upper body free weights
Friday: lower body plyometrics
Saturday: HIIT cardio: high intensity interval training, in a 2-1 ratio. So like on the bike, 2 minutes pace, 1 minute sprint. 20-25 minutes. then 20 minutes of basic cardio
Sunday: cardio - 5 minutes pace, 1 minute sprint.
I figured that every week i could make an excuse as to why I should wait another week to start this thing, so I'm just starting it now. I know I still have another final and its graduation weekend so my nutrition plan will be hard to follow (if I could learn a bit of self-control that would be great!) but I really wanted to try this! I love weight training and I'm much better at losing weight when I have a GOAL and someone telling me what to do!
DAY ONE
Today was upper body free weights days. I woke up an hour late because I can't figure out how to work the alarm clock apparently, so my 7:30am breakfast came around 8:45: blueberries in oatmeal & 4 egg whites. I added a few cups of black coffee. After about an hour of studying I went to the gym and did my circuit:
barbell bench press: 30lb, 15 reps
overhead press: 20lb, 15 reps
lat pull down: 45lb, 15 reps
standing bicep curls: 8lb, 15 reps
tricep curls laying down on bench: 8lb, 15 reps
exercise ball crunches: to fail
reverse ab curls: to fail
plank ball butt lifts: to fail (which was quickly accomplished)
5 minutes varying cardio: bike, jump rope, walking at an incline, bike
And I did that four times through! It was a fabulous workout and only took about an hour. The gym is in the undergrad campus so I was one of maybe 5 people at the gym this morning. It was fabulous!
Well it's passed noon and I've managed to procrastinate studying a little bit more...so I should probably do something "wills & trusts" oriented. Check back tomorrow around this time for the lower body day!